Lago Maggiore

In the territory of Upper Verbano, which from the city of Verbania extends towards the high hills and includes in order of altitude – among others – the municipalities of Arizzano, Vignone, Bée and Premeno, Cannobio and Cannero Riviera and again Ghiffa, Gurro, Oggebbio, Trarego Viggiona, Valle Cannobina and the pre-alpine mountains, steep slopes blanketed by woods offer an oasis of peace and relaxation for the many visitors. There are numerous opportunities to practice sports and recreation, learn about the ancient history of these places inhabited for over 3 thousand years and marvel at the breathtaking views: along these routes nature and spirit come together in a spectacular combination.

The itinerary to be enjoyed by foot among the beautiful views of the Special Nature Reserve of the Sacred Mount of the S.S. Trinità of Ghiffa deserves a special mention. Trinità di Ghiffa, with its Baroque monumental complex of Sacro Monte, declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2003, boasts a sanctuary and three chapels that celebrate the mystery of the Holy Trinity.

Premeno is about 12 km from Verbania; the road that leads from the provincial capital to the town was once the site of the Intra-Premeno railway tracks and the carriages that went up used a small road that is now used only by some connoisseurs of the area; in some places it is no longer even passable with a motor vehicle.
It is located in a natural basin and surrounded by the San Salvatore, Pizzo d'Omo and Sasso Corbé mountains (whose summit marks the highest point of the municipality, 1,100 m a.s.l.).
The municipality is divided into several hamlets: Pollino, Pian di Sole and Esio; the town itself is located at an altitude between 780 and 900 meters above sea level.

For info and all useful numbers visit the dedicated page CLICKING HERE

©️ Any publication and dissemination of the image to external sites or to third parties who do not own the service is prohibited

Heavy sleet

45.977937565736, 8.5956859588623

45.977937565736, 8.5956859588623